Awards Banquet Held Thursday, September 24, 2015

About 50 Hayward Lions Club members attended the annual fall awards banquet held at The Steakhouse (15860 T Bone Lane). District Governor Larry Bradley and his wife were in attendance. After the awards were presented, Mr. Bradley gave a short talk on what he envisioned as his mission for the year of his term as governor. Chuck Aubart (President of the Hayward Lions) was the master of ceremonies. This year the “fun awards” were not given out by either the Lions Club or the Lioness Club. This helped to shorten the length of the program. Most people enjoyed the “fun awards” in past years but this was a nice change.

The following major awards were presented:

Melvin Jones Award–Gary Nelson
Melvin Jones Award–Jim Ahern
Burch-Sturm Award–Nancy Nelson
Lion of the Year Award–Dick Grundstron
Rookie of the Year Award–Stephanie Poplin

The Lions Club officers for this year will be:

President–Chuck Aubart
1st Vice-President–Nels Beckman
2nd Vice-President–John Yackel
3rd Vice-President–Gary Nelson
Treasurer–Liz Korpal
Secretary–Tina Causey
WLF Liason–Barb Sealey
Lions Tamer–Jeff Hubbard
Tail Twister–Bill Moebs
Membership–Derek Winter
Directors 1 Year–Nancy, Scott Burton
Directors 2 Years–Dick Langton, Mike Boyer
Publicity–Larry Gilmer
Chaplin–Cliff William

If you are interested in viewing some photos of the event, please go to the Hayward Lions Club web site ( and look under the photos tab.