Lions 50th Anniversary Celebration April 27th a Great Success

The Hayward Lions Club celebrated their 50th Anniversary Saturday, April 27, 2013. The banquet was held at The Steakhouse in Hayward, WI. A buffet dinner was served to about 100 Lions Club members and their guests. There were visitors from the following Lions Clubs: Birchwood, Chequamegon, Jim Falls, Lake Wissota, Luck, Rice Lake, Seeley, Shell Lake, Siren, St. Croix Falls, Stone Lake, Turtle Lake, Unity, Wanderoos and Webster.

The honored guests for the evening were: Past International President Wayne Heiman, Past Council Chair Sam Kochel, Past Council Chair Gary Solum, Past Council Chair Bill Taubman, District Governor Ron Edlund, District Governor Elect Marilyn Lemieux, Wisconsin Lions Foundation Director Lee Vrieze, Past District Governor Larry Spies, Past District Governor Karl Schmid, Past District Governor Steve Jensen, Affiliate District President Billie Gravesen, Past Affiliate District President Jeanne, First Vice District Governor Elect Delores LaFaive and Zone Chair Steve George.

The guest speaker was Wayne A. Heiman, Past International Director. His wife Cheryl was also in attendance. The Hayward Lions Club has been fortunate enough to have four Past District Governors since 1994 (Bert Ancel, Russ Haling, Laurie Anderson, Chuck Aubart). Past District Governors of the Hayward Lions Club were recognized as well as numerous Past District Governors from other clubs in Lions International. The current District Governor, Ron Edlund, inducted Scott Burton as a new member into the Hayward Lions Club.

Nancy Grothe received the Presidents Award. Past International President Wayne Heiman and Past District Governor Steve Jensen presented the award to Nancy. This was probably the high point of the evening. The President’s Award is one of the very highest awards given by Lions International. Nancy is only the third person in the history of the Hayward Lions Club to receive this award. The other two recipients were: Chuck Aubart and Russ Haling.

The chairperon for the event was Lynell Swenson. Cliff Williams, the current president of the Hayward Lions Club, was the master of ceromonies. At the end of the evening, about 30 percent of those attending went home with a door prize or a raffle prize. It was a very memorable evening.