Lions, Lioness Hold Annual Banquet

The Hayward Lions Club held their Annual Awards Banquet during the fall of 2012 at The Steak House in Hayward, WI. The awards banquet was a joint venture by the Hayward Lions and Lioness clubs. There was a very fine representation of people from both organizations. About 90 people were present for the event. Barb Sealey was the chairperson for the decorations. The program chairperson was Mary Wright. District Governor Ron Edlund and his wife Elaine were present. Governor Ron gave a short speech to the assembled group as part of the program. He listed his priorities for the upcoming year. They are: (1) have some fun at club meetings, (2) increase membership in the Leo Clubs, (3) each club should increase their membership. His message was well received by the group.

Mary Wright and Tom Mansfield presented several “fun” awards to the members. The membership really looks forward to this part of the program each year! In some cases the “fun” awards are treasured almost as much as the regular awards. The major awards and their recipients were: Rookie of the Year was won by Tina Causey, Lion of the Year was won by Gary Nelson, Birch Sturm Award was won by Dick Langton and the Melvin Jones Award was won by Mary Wright.